Criminal Law Header

Understanding Cyber Crime & Sexual Assault In Pennsylvania (PA)

Attorney Michael Ira Stump - Sexual Offenses

Michael is a Cyber Crime Lawyer who focuses part of his practice on the areas of sex offenders & child pornography cases, including; Lehigh County, Northampton County, Berks County, Allentown, Bethlehem, Easton, Reading & surrounding areas. The accusation of a sex crime has the potential to do irreversible harm to you, your family & your reputation. He & his staff understand how embarrassing & damaging it can be to face charges of this nature. He & his staff will work on your case with the utmost professionalism.

What are the Sexual Assault Penalties?

If a prosecutor has enough evidence, you could be charged with involuntary deviate sexual intercourse or rape. This depends on the circumstances. A conviction would mean a first-degree felony. If the victim is an adult, you could face up to 20 years in prison. If the victim is a child younger than age 13, the maximum sentence for rape is 40 years. Finally, if a child victim suffered serious bodily injury, you could face life in prison, if you were convicted of the rape of a child.

Sex Offenders & Child Pornography services include:

  • Therapist & sex counselors referrals
  • Sexual Offenders Assessment Board, Megan’s Law & Adam Walsh Act
  • Handle cases with Pennsylvania Attorney General’s Office
  • Handle Federal cases in all districts of Pennsylvania

  • What is rape in Pennsylvania?

    Rape is found in 18 Pa.CS 3121 You can be charged with rape if you use physical force or threats of physical force to compel someone to engage in sexual intercourse or sodomy against their will. You can also be charged with rape if you engage in sexual intercourse with a victim who is unconscious and is incapable of consent. For example, if someone is so intoxicated that he or she has passed out and is unable to consent to sex, you could be charged with rape if you have sex with him or her.

    What is rape in Pennsylvania? cont...

    You can also be charged with rape if you administer date rape drugs to the alleged victim to prevent him or her from resisting sexual intercourse. Finally, you can face a rape charge if you have sexual intercourse with someone who is mentally disabled and incapable of consenting to sex.

    Pennsylvania Age of Consent - Wikipedia

    The age of consent in Pennsylvania is 16 years of age for sexual consent. The age of consent was previously 14 but it was increased to 16 in 1995. Teenagers aged 13, 14 and 15 may or may not be able to legally engage in sexual activity with partners who are less than 4 years older. Such partners could not be prosecuted under statutory rape laws, but may be liable for other offenses, even when the sexual activity is consensual.

    In December 2011 the Pennsylvania Legislature passed an amendment stating that an employee of a school who engages in sexual relations with any student or athletic player under the age of 18 may receive a third-degree felony charge. In 2014 Governor of Pennsylvania Tom Corbett signed into law an amendment making this law apply to athletic coaches who work outside of an educational setting. Historically Pennsylvania prosecutors were only allowed to issue misdemeanor charges such as corruption of minors against teachers and coaches who had sex with 16 and 17-year-old students. In addition to the corruption of minors charge, Pennsylvania prosecutors have also brought child endangerment charges against schoolteachers who had sex with 16 and 17-year-old students.
    Call Us Today! 610-965-0911